Thinking Biggish

So I had another thought, what if I had to live in it for a few months for whatever reason, work related in area or a problem, I saw a Ford Custom converted into a camper, it was shorter and smaller than I’ve seen before, I asked to have a look inside as I am wanting to do the same and the young couple around my age was happy enough to do so.

They recommended some type of vans a VW transporter and  Renault Trafic, Ford Transit etc.  They all said they’re the same size small enough for most high restrictions and short enough to park in pubic places and then they showed me their blueprint for their conversion to show how they planned an “off the grid no expenses spared” camper for a year of traveling around england .  They’ve spent more than I ever will but it helped me to plan mine.

In return I provided them with locations to visit for sunsets and sunrises  plus good quite areas to sleep in the area as they’re from cornwall.  The couple also told me that their insurance is high and told me which was £460 more than mine which they decided to add in their own loan when they bought the van.

 

The couples money plan on basic explanation:

Van + Insurance on a bank loan plan

The conversions on their income which was split into 50/50

Enabling the van for road use: From selling their electronics from the flat they stopped renting.

I asked about other furniture they had they told me that they’re planning to come back for a year and go off again to the EU they only had a sofa, TV, Books, DVD player and PS4 which they sold apart from the sofa which is at a family members until they return they never had a car so this is their first transportation of their own.

 

I’ve been looking at vans at these sizes but had a hard job looking for a decent price that I can work with, it is either places asking for £14,200+ for a 80,000 mile+ van when there is a 120,000 for £5,000 but I have slowly seen these prices change with the miles around 80,000  going into the single thousand digit, as soon as I find one that is fitting for me I am going to look at it and depending on the history will depend if ill grab it.

If a dealership or person offers me the caddy maxi at a low price with the low miles  I might grab that.  I am not  fussed with size but it will be a little nicer having extra space for two-three people. All im thinking of for myself from Most on my mind to least.

  • Petrol/Deisel  running cost (how much will I spend a day/week to keep it going for work and none trips)
  • Current miles and history of vehicle. (if its had too many fail ,then why)
  • Insurance (Which will be more than £1,100 a year)
  • M.O.T (No idea if its more than a car or the same)
  • Road Tax (Will be more if its older with a bad Co2 rating)
  • Where to put it during work ( wont be able to park in customer carpark all the time)
  • Where to put it at home (New houses increased more cars parking)
  • Finding a place to sleep whiles out and about. (Will it be easy to park it and be unnoticed if im in a populated public area)

Leave a comment